2018 IATCCC Hall of Fame Inductees

Click Names for Bios

Coaches Category

Female Category

Male Category

Pioneer Group

Rudy Skorupa

Lake Central

Lauren (Davenport) Johnson

Huntington North

Bryce Brown

Evansville Harrison

Fred Seward

Bloomington High School

Contributor Category

Shannon (Kelley) Dragoo

Ft Wayne Northrop

Michael Fout


Martin “Marty” Hill

Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School

Ricke Stucker




Thomas M. Haynes

Shortridge, Washington




Rudy Skorupa – Lake Central

40 years of teaching Physics and coaching Cross Country and Track & Field at Lake Central High School (1974 to 2013).  His teams won 39 Team Sectional Championships (XC - 18, T&F – 21), 35 Cross Country Regional Appearances, 11 Team Regional Championships (XC - 9, T&F – 2), 28 Cross Country Semi-State Appearances
1 Team Semi-State Cross Country Championship, 11 Cross Country State Final Appearances with the best finishes of 3rd in 1982 & 2nd in 1983.  His athletes accomplished 138 Individual Sectional Champions (XC – 6, T&F – 132), 144 Regional Individual Qualifiers, 23 Individual Regional Champions (XC – 6, T&F – 17), 63 Semi-State Individual Qualifiers (XC), 1 Individual Cross Country Semi-State Champion, 1 Indiana Cross Country All Star, 103 State Individual Qualifiers (XC – 14, T&F – 89), 33 All-State Athletes (XC – 6, T&F – 27), 1 Individual State Track & Field Champion.  Rudy Skorupa is also a member of DePauw University’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

Ricke Stucker – Kokomo

Head boys’ cross country coach Kokomo High School for 45 years (1969 – 2013)
25 Individual State Finalists, 20 sectional team titles, Qualified semi-state 39 times, 23 runners compete in college.  Track clerk of course for Kokomo Relays, KHS sectional, and KHS regional for 24 years. Founder/Director of Kokomo Summer Distance Camp for 43 years. Started All-Howard County Boys’ and Girls’ Cross Country Teams list, Boys’ and Girls’ Top 10 Cross Country Times list, All- Time Track Bests for boys and girls, Season Best Track List for boys and girls. 11-Time President of Club Kokomo Roadrunners, Original member of Club Kokomo, for 36 years. Coached Paralympic athlete to National titles in 800 and 1500 in U.S. Paralympic Finals.
IATCCC: sectional council representative for 40 years, helped start President’s Award, Recipient of President’s Award-2 times, started Longevity Awards, Recipient of 40 Year Longevity Award, helped start Hall of Fame Pioneer Group, Hall of Fame chairman for 10 years.  Indiana All-Star Cross Country Coach 5 times, Indiana All-Star Girls’ Track Coach, nominated for IATCCC Coach of the Year 5 times.

Lauren (Davenport) Johnson – Huntington North

Three-time NAIA All-American at Huntington University, 2015 USA team member at the world championships in Beijing in 1500 meters.  At present her P.R.’s with her all-time Indiana rankings are: 800 2:01.59 #4 , 1500 – 4:04.17 #2, mile – 4:25.04 #1, 3000 – 9:08.98 #6, steeplechase 10:00.79 #4, and marathon – 2:41.27 #8

Shannon (Kelley) Dragoo – Ft Wayne Northrop

7-time All-State in track including 1 state championship: '99 2nd in both the 100 and 300 hurdles and 9th in the long jump, in '00 she set the State Meet record in the 100 hurdles (14.19) and 2nd in the 300 hurdles (43.89). Her 100 hurdle time is 8th on the All Time List and 300 Hurdle time is 35th on the All Time List. She also ran on the runner up 4 X 400 relay in '98 and '00 and was also the '00 NSR 55 Hurdles Champion at 8.23.  Big Ten All-Conference performer while at Purdue.

Bryce Brown – Evansville Harrison

Five-time state champion - 3 times in the 300 hurdles and 2 times in the 110 hurdles. State runner-up in the 110 hurdles. Three 3rd place finishes in 100 Dash and 2 times in the 4x100 relay. Broke state record in the 300 hurdles as a sophomore, then broke his own state record as a senior. Broke the meet record in every single 300 race he ran his senior year. Big 12 Champion in 400 hurdles at Texas Tech - 3rd at NCAA. Led South Plains Junior College to 3 National titles and had two individual NJCAA National titles.

Michael Fout – LaPorte – 2008

Mike was a two-time state champion at LaPorte High School. He earned his first state championship as a junior in the 3200 meter run. He went on to post his HS personal best time of 8:55.66 in the same event at Nike Outdoor National a couple of weeks later. That race impressed Florida State University’s coach so much that he offered Mike a full scholarship the next day. As a senior, he won the cross country state championship. More impressively, he went on to win the Mideast Meet of Champions race (course record).  The following week, Mike won the Midwest Footlocker race. Against one of the best fields ever, Mike ran away from his competition in the last mile to win the Footlocker National Championship in 14:50. Mike was coached by Tim Beres in cross country and head coaches Tim Beres and Bob James in track.

Mike went on to have a stellar career at Florida State University. He was a four-time All-American while competing in cross country and track. He helped lead both to NCAA runner-up finishes. He was a three-time qualifier for the NCAA nationals in the 10,000 meter run, finishing as high as 4th in 2013. He was also a six-time all ACC award winner, and ten-time academic all-American.

Fred Seward – Bloomington High School

Fred Seward was an athlete participating in several sports. his greatest success came in track and field events. In a dual meet with Mitchell High School 1n 1904, Seward ran a reported 9.8 second 100-yard dash, that would remain the best time for an Indiana high school athlete for 26 years and only matched twice.

In the first IHSAA State Meet Championships, Seward won both the 120-yard-high hurdles and the 220-yard low- hurdles with marks that would remain the record for five years.

During the summer of 1904 before entering Indiana University, he had an injury that kept him from participating in the Olympics. His university athletic career was a remarkable success.

After graduating from Indiana University, Seward became a leading businessman in Bloomington, leading the family foundry business.


Martin “Marty” Hill – Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School

Martin Hill ran at Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School winning the 1970 IHSAA State Meet mile after a runner-up finish in 1969. Hill’s winning time was the 5th all-time best at the time. He finished the 1969 IHSAA State Cross Country Championships in 13th place.

He participated on the University of Notre Dame track and cross-country teams with remarkable success.

After earning his law degree, he returned to his alma mater for a nineteen-year career as the Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School track and cross country coach, while practicing law.


Thomas M. Haynes – Shortridge and Washington High Schools

(b. June 28, 1923, d. July 9, 2002) graduated from Southport High School in 1942. At Southport Haynes finished 2nd in the State in the 880 (1941) and third in the mile (1942). Haynes also set the Marion County meet record in the 880 (2:01.3) in 1941 and the mile (4:33.7) in 1942. Each record stood for 22 years. Haynes ran at Butler University before his running career was derailed by WWII. Haynes started his teaching and cross country/track coaching career at Shortridge High School in 1948. As head, cross country coach at Shortridge (1948-1958) and Washington High School (1959-1962) Haynes’ teams won 2 State, 6 City, and 7

Sectional Titles. After retiring from coaching Haynes became Vice Principal at Arlington High School (1962-1968) and Principal of Marshall High School from 1968 to 1982.